Unbelievably friendly and warm staff who gladly gave expert travel advice and recommendations that only a Roman would normally be privy to. - Loic Diels
I LOVE this website and will gladly recommend it to anyone headed this way. Nothing disappointed us! - Mary-Iris Taylor
I have been using Cross-Pollinate for about 10 years now. The service is consistently great and I can always find just the kind of apartment we like, at the right price. - Hirani Himona
A really great idea - with a network of hand picked little rooms/guesthouses. If only we could have this in more city destinations! - Zoe Buck
I love Cross-Pollinate and every time we go to a new city I look to see whether they have some accommodations over there. - Arantza Aldea
The two places I have stayed at from Cross-Pollinate have been among the best across Europe. Highly recommended. - Nicholas Burn
Thanks a lot to Cross-Pollinate for the opportunity to experience a city as an insider! We really enjoyed our stay in Rome and Venice and look forward to more. - Tatiana Marchenko
Cross-Pollinate was very helpful when the owner of the B&B wanted to charge us for the baby under 2 y o. It would have been difficult without them since the owners did not speak any english. - Yulia Pichugina
This was our only stay with a C-P apartment and we were very pleased with the entire process. Will look to use them again on our next Europe trip! - Anthony Giglio
Great web site and quick response from the team a CP made the whole experience easy and hassle free. I have already recommended CP to quite of few of my airline industry colleagues and I'm sure they will make use of their excellent service. - Shane Pickles
Cross-Pollinate was extremely helpful! They found us a place to stay in our price range when many other places of business couldn't help us. - Sarah Seminutin
Cross-Pollinate was very easy to use, and it is so much better to stay in places like these than big corporate hotels; you get a much better feel for the place. - Kaspar Deane
Very straight forward. Well done. Definitely would use it again. Love these type of alternatives to hotels! - John White
Cross-Pollinate was fantastic and easy to use. We used Cross-Pollinate to book a room in Florence (the second leg of our trip), which was everything I thought it would be. We have recommended Cross-Pollinate to our friends. - Barbara Carlin
Cross-Pollinate are great - the descriptions are accurate and they are very responsive to questions. - Dominique Bayne
Cross Pollinate was just the best. I had tried a couple of places before coming upon them. As soon as I sent the first email I stopped looking for any more websites. I just wish they expanded to every city in Europe. Their knowledge, helpfulness, etc. was second to none. - Caroline Collis
Meltin' Rome Guesthouse
Meltin' Rome B&B was given its unusual name by the owner, Rodolfo, because of the vibrant multicultural neighborhood it's located in, playing off the phrase "melting pot". Each of the rooms was designed with a different culture or cultural aspect in mind --such as the "Africa" room with its bright colors; the relaxing Eastern vibe of the "Asia" room; and the kaleidoscopic American pop culture room. As of late 2013 Rodolfo made 4 bathrooms for the 4 rooms (instead of the 1 shared bathroom previously for 3 rooms). Two rooms have the bathroom ensuite and the other two have their own, dedicated bathrooms just outside the room.

Each of the rooms has flat-screen TV and WiFi. Located near Termini station, the B&B is within a quick walk of the main hub of public transport in Rome -- trains, buses, and both metro lines.
  • with elevator
  • linen and towels provided
  • 3rd floor
  • LCD TV (flat screen)
  • WiFi
  • fan
  • independent heating
  • hair dryer
  • private ensuite bathroom (€ 5.00)
  • air-conditioning
anonymous on Apr 2011:

Our stay was a bit ago, so I don't exactly remember specifics, but we had a really great time in Rome. Good location. :)
The kitchen pans needed replacing. They were a bit scratched up from use.
Really great alternative to staying in a hotel.
anonymous on Jun 2012:

it was very easy to book.
The confirmation email from the owner stated an "en-suite" private bathroom, an option I choose (for an extra fee). I was dismayed to learn that the bathroom was not "en-suite" rather one had to exit the room to the hallway to enter the bathroom. Also the private bath was filthy-thick soap scum on the shower along with the telltale red/pink mold indicitive of Serratia marcescens (i am a micro-biologist). The power and elevator went out numerous times, and the front door broke and had to be propped open so that anyone could enter-not exactly a stellar neighborhood either. The wi-fi was bogus-only 3 individuals could be logged on at once so one had to wait for other guests to log off. I requested and paid for a 4 person room but had to wait some time for 2 extra beds to be brought in and set up upon arrival. I did email the owner with concerns and he replied that they would be taken care of--perhaps they were after my stay. I was there 4 or 5 nights summer 2012.
thank you for the opportunity to share my thoughts.
Admin on 24. Aug 2013:
Sorry to read this, Robert. I see we exchanged many, many emails with you but you never brought this to our attention. I like to think we could have done something to help as we were never made aware of these problems. UPDATE: as of August 2013, two rooms now do have ensuite bathrooms and two have external, private bathrooms.
average score
5.0 / 5.0
Accuracy of listing
Helpfulness of Cross-Pollinate
Booking details
Booking details: guesthouse (owner does not live on premises), 4 guestrooms, with private bathroom (2 ensuite, 2 not ensuite)
Payment accepted: cash on arrival in euro
Minimum stay: minimum stay of 3 nights
Cancellations allowed up to: 5 days before arrival
Occupancy: double
Bed options: 1 queen (160 cm)
Policies & Extra Charges: non-smoking, luggage can be held before check-in, check-out time is 11 am, room will be ready by 3 pm for check-in, city tourist tax €3.50 per person per night (not included in price)
Spoken Language(s):
Rates and Availability
 Meltin' Rome Guesthouse